Wessex Press Axcess Capon Teaching Innovation Competition

This annual competition is held concurrently with the MMA Fall Educators’ Conference to recognize outstanding innovators in marketing education.  Three finalists will be selected from the written submissions to present their teaching innovation at the conference.  The winning innovation will be selected from the three presentations, with all three recognized at the Awards Luncheon.  The top innovation will receive a $1,000 prize; the other two innovations will each receive a $250 prize.

The competition is open to all marketing instructors—full- and part-time, including doctoral students—from all types of academic institutions. The innovation, in its current form, must not have been previously published or recognized as a teaching competition winner. The process starts with the submission of a paper up to eight pages describing the innovation. Click the Call for Submissions link below to download the instructions. Papers must be submitted electronically to the competition coordinator, Theresa B. Clarke TeachingInnovationComp@mmaglobal.org, by the end of Sunday, May 19, 2019. You are welcome to contact Theresa if you have questions about the competition or need assistance.

2020 Wessex Press Axcess Capon Teaching Innovation Competition Call for Submissions: Download PDF

Prior Winners & Runners-Up of the Teaching Innovation Award

  • 2018:  Kai-Yu Wang, Brock University:  “Six-Steps for Search Engine Marketing Learning” (Winner)
    • Haithem Zourig, Kent State University at Stark & Samer Sarofim, California State University – Fresno: “The Price is Right!  A Value-Based Pricing Simulation Game”
    • Cindy B. Rippé, Flagler College: “Engaging Gen Z and Helping Hurricane Victims with a Marketing Project”
  • 2017:  Elliott Manzon, University of Cincinnati: “Experiencing a Customer’s Journey:  Eye Tracking Technology in the Marketing Classroom” (Winner)
    • Abhijit Roy, University of Scranton:  “Studying Positioning of Brands Using Multidimensional Scaling”
    • Hope Corrigan, Loyola University Maryland & Alexandra Hutto, University of Pennsylvania “Retailing in the Magical World:  An Innovative Approach to Teaching Online Marketing Concepts”
  • 2016:  Mark McConnell, University of Mount Union: “Sell, Learn, Serve:  Social Responsibility and Experiential Learning” (Winner)
    • Cindy B. Ripppé, Tarleton State University:  “Tasked with Teaching Adaptive Selling Skills”
    • Elliott Manzon, University of Cincinnati:  “Engaging Student Interest:  The Kickstarter Active Learning Project”
  • 2015:  Scott Cowley, Arizona State University:  “The Management Draft:  An Innovative Approach for Improving the Performance of Student Teams”
  • 2014:  Katherine Jackson & Datha Damron-Martinez, Truman State University
  • 2013:  Vassilis Dalakas, California State University – San Marcos
  • 2012:  Ann Veeck, Western Michigan University
  • 2011:  Dawn Edmiston, St. Vincent College