Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Doctoral Student Competition

This annual competition is held concurrently with the MMA Fall Educators’ Conference to recognize doctoral students who excel in teaching and scholarship.  Three finalists will be selected from the written submissions to give a teaching demonstration at the conference.  The finalists will have the conference registration fee (which includes meals) and one night hotel paid.  The winner will be selected from the three finalists with all three recognized for their achievement at the Awards Luncheon.  The winner will receive a $1,000 prize; the other two finalists will each receive a $250 prize.

2018 Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Doctoral Student Competition: Download PDF

Prior Winners of the Outstanding Doc Student Award

  • 2017:  Ashley Goreczny, Georgia State University
  • 2016:  Samer Sarofim, University of Kansas
  • 2015:  Nina Krey, Louisiana Tech University
  • 2014:  Sarah Roche, University of Texas – San Antonio
  • 2013:  Co-Winner:  Adam Mills, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • 2013:  Co-Winner:  Philipp Rauschnabel, University of Bamberg, Germany
  • 2012:  Nelson Amaral, University of Minnesota
  • 2011:  Ahir Gopaldas, York University, Canada